The Alan Peters Online Furniture Award 2021
For full details of the award and payment of entry fee please visit this secure site:  
1st prize £1,000 voucher from 2nd prize  £500 voucher from 3rd prize  £300 Judges’ prize This prestigious award is open to anyone over 18 who is a resident citizen of The British Isles. The entry deadline is14 March 2021. The  Online Award Ceremony will be in the second week of April following which there will be a Virtual exhibition hosted on several platforms featuring the work of winners, commended entries and also examples from the judges.
in collaboration with
Download application form
View 64 page Ebook
After sending your entry and fee (which is non-refundable) you will be sent an email acknowledging receipt. If you dont receive an email within 24 hours please contact Andrew Lawton
CONTACT e: t: 01225 332738
Copyright Jeremy Broun 1973-2015

The Alan Peters Furniture Award 2020
An annual award celebrating the legacy of one of Britain’s most prominent furniture designer makers of the late 20th Century. It aims to encourage emerging talent in the craft of furniture design and making. Any woodworker who is a resident citizen of The British Isles over the age of 18 and who has a passion and talent for designing and making contemporary furniture is invited to submit up to 2 items of furniture that echoes the philosophy of Alan Peters. Judging is based on the appropriate use of wood, the quality of workmanship, functionality and originality of design. Applicants should be familiar with the work of Alan Peters prior to applying and are encouraged to read this 64 page online ebook by Jeremy Broun offered free here:
Alan Peters OBE (1933 – 2009) was one of Britain’s most prominent furniture designer makers of the latter part of the 20th Century. He apprenticed to Edward Barnsley and was a direct link to The English Arts & Crafts Movement. He was hugely influential internationally in his practice, teaching and publications.  Above all, his respect and understanding of how wood behaves and the value of hand skill, yet moving tradition forward, resulted in many timeless pieces.  He created affordable functional furniture that was made to last, making an art of his craft in some of his subtle innovations. Watch YouTube clip                                                                      Obituary 2009 History of the Award The original award was called The Alan Peters Award For Excellence and was initiated by Jason Heap in 2010 and the prize was for three winners to have a free exhibition space alongside the professionals at his annual furniture exhibition in Cheltenham. The award ran for eight years. Here are some of the winning pieces. The judges were Jason Heap, Keith Newton and Jeremy Broun. 
1st prize £1,000 voucher from 2nd prize  £500 voucher from 3rd prize  £300 Judges prize Winning pieces together with runners up and examples of furniture by the judges will appear in a virtual exhibition on this website and other selected platforms around mid March 2021.
in collaboration with
Award deadline 28 Feb 2021 You  are encouraged to submit entries  anytime up to this date. £20 entry fee. Application form
Download Application form here  £20 entry fee per piece. Max 2 pieces. Payment via application                          form or here.  SSL secured payment gateway -